Charged with DUI/OVI?

PROTECT YOUR RIGHTS AND LET THE MAKRIDIS LAW FIRM FIGHT YOUR CHARGES

A conviction for DUI / OVI can change your life. It affects not only your freedom and ability to drive, but also your ability to stay employed, reputation, car insurance rates, college admissions, housing, military enlistment, custody, immigration, travel, and ability to get a professional license.

Inexpensive DUI lawyer
At Makridis Law, we pride ourselves on offering professional legal service at an affordable price. We are a small, family-owned, firm that is able to offer inexpensive DUI lawyer services at a much lower price compared to the larger firms in Columbus, which have higher overhead costs.

What Happens When You Are Charged with DUI?
A person charged with DUI (Driving Under the Influence), also known as OVI (Operating a Vehicle Impaired), faces a number of penalties. Ohio laws require a judge to impose a minimum punishment, frequently referred to as a “minimum mandatory” sentence. But it is not uncommon for a judge to impose a harsher sentence  in cases involving aggravated circumstances, such as an accident or previous DUI / OVI conviction. The penalties for the different types of DUI / OVI offenses are outlined here: DUI/OVI Penalties

Refusal to submit to a breath test could lead to serious consequences

Refusal to submit to a breath test could lead to serious consequences

You can choose to refuse to submit to the breath, blood or urine test. However, in Ohio such a refusal to submit to an alcohol test will result in an automatic suspension of your driver’s license and a waiting period before you are eligible for limited driving privileges:

1st refusal: 1 year license suspension and driving privileges after 30 days;
2nd refusal: 2 year license suspension and driving privileges after 90 days;
3rd refusal: 3 year license suspension and driving privileges after 1 year;
4th refusal or more: 5 year license suspension and driving privileges after 3 years.

BREATH TEST OVER THE LIMIT

If you choose to submit to a breath test and test over the legal limit (.08) you will face the following penalties:

  • 1st failed test: 90 day license suspension and driving privileges after 15 days;
  • 2nd failed test: 1 year license suspension and driving privileges after 45 days;
  • 3rd failed test: 2 year license suspension and driving privileges after 180 days;
  • 4th failed test: 3 year license suspension and driving privileges after 3 years.